Alumni Association Awards

The Awards

The Alumni Medal was reinstated by the Alumni Board of Governors in November 1984. In 1991 the decision was made to expand the award process to more fittingly recognize the accomplishments and dedication of all of our alumni, at which time the Amethyst Award was created.  In April 2017, the Alumni Board of Governors instituted a new award to acknowledge achievements of recent alumni, the Scientia Floret Virtute Award, which will be presented for the first time in 2018.

Award Eligibility:

  • Nominees for all awards must be Immaculata University alumni, with either an undergraduate or graduate degree.
  • For the Scientia Floret Virtute Award, nominees must have graduated with their first degree from Immaculata University within the last 10 years.
  • Current members or outgoing members of the Alumni Association Board of Governors and Board of Trustees are not eligible for nomination.

Criteria for the Alumni Medal

The Alumni Medal is presented in recognition of outstanding volunteer service and support to Immaculata University.  The recipient exemplifies the goals and ideals of Immaculata University in her/his particular life and through devoted service advances the mission of the Alumni Association of Immaculata University.

Previous Alumni Medal Recipients at the Awards Gala October 20, 2017

Previous Alumni Medal Recipients

Criteria for the Amethyst Award

The Amethyst Award is presented to an alumna/us in recognition of her/his outstanding contribution to or achievement in a church, community, or professional activity.  The recipient supports and exemplifies the goals and ideals, and demonstrates the value of an Immaculata University education.

Previous Amethyst Award Recipients at the Awards Gala October 20, 2017

Previous Amethyst Award Recipients

Criteria for the Scientia Floret Virtute Award

The Scientia Floret Virtute Award recognizes a recent alumna or alumnus who has graduated within the last 10 years.  This award honors alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their profession, community, or service to Immaculata University while upholding the mission and values of Immaculata University.

Award Nominations

Nominations for all three awards may be made by any member of the Alumni Association of Immaculata University. The nominee may be living or deceased. The individual nominations will be researched and the nomination/profile will be submitted to the Alumni Board of Governors for final selection.

Nominations for the 2018 award cycle are closed. Please contact to inquire about nomination submissions for the 2019 Alumni Medal, Amethyst Award, or Scientia Floret Virtute Awards.  Thank you for your interest in nominating for these prestigious awards.

Discover Immaculata

Grounded in IHM tradition and charism since 1920.

Find out what an IU education can do for your mind, your character and your future.