Home Campus News  

Immaculata News

Immaculata University Honors Student Leaders

Student Leadership Awards 2019-2020

Immaculata University is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 recipients of the Student Leadership Awards. Below is the list of students with the name and description of the award.

Berks County

Community Service Initiative Award – AJ Castaldi ’21 of Boyertown, PA
The student recipient provided service to an external organization, was sponsored/recognized by the University and made a positive impact on the students, the club/organization and the recipients.

Bucks County

Mission and Vision Award – Christy Volovnik ’20 of Quakertown, PA
This award is given to a student who exemplifies the University core values (faith, community, service, knowledge, virtue) inside and outside of the classroom and is involved across a variety of university programs, clubs, organizations and committees.

Chester County

Student Club/Org Advisor of the Year Award – Charlene Fitzwater, Ph.D., of Exton, PA (professor of business and finance)
The recipient of this award needs to have provided support and guidance through the entire academic year and advanced the development of the organization and student members. This person assists in the positive growth of the individual students and overall organization.

Luzerne County

Rising Student Leader Award AND the Engaged Student Leader Award – Francesca Kalie ’22 of Shickshinny, PA
The recipient of the Rising Leader shows a commitment to serve the Immaculata community side-by- side with the elected student leaders and administration of the campus. This student helps to complete any task needed while modeling the core values and mission of the university. This student shows promise to continue to exemplify growth and development as a leader. Through their involvement, the recipient of the Engaged Leadership Award has shown ambitions to improve campus life and strengthen the IU community with the anticipation he or she will continue to be involved and active on campus through leadership positions.

Montgomery County

Monsignor Harnett Medal Award – Jessica McHugh ’20 of Harleysville, PA
A medal is presented, in memory of Monsignor Msgr. Joseph Harnett, to a senior who has witnessed to his/her concern for social justice through involvement in volunteer service to the poor and needy.

Legacy of 1920 Award – Laura Lindmeier ’20 of Hatfield, PA
The recipient of this award exemplifies the University Student Code of Conduct Statement by seeking excellence in the classroom, on the playing field, and in positions of leadership and service across campus. The recipient leaves Immaculata better than he or she found it, leaving a legacy for all those that follow.

Philadelphia County

RACAPA Staff Award – Elizabeth Lipscomb ’21 of Philadelphia, PA
This award is given to a paraprofessional staff member who has gone above and beyond the job requirements for students, the community and the University.


Senior Leadership Award – Samantha Snider ’20 of Reisterstown, MD
The Senior Leadership Award is given to a senior who has made significant contributions during his/her time at IU. The student demonstrates progressive leadership and holds one or more formal leadership roles.

Recent News